Delicious dairy free

My youngest isn’t keen on fruit, or vegetables for that matter.  He is also intolerant to dairy.  Last year we worked out that consuming even small amounts of milk, milk powder, yoghurt, etc caused night terrors and sleepwalking.  It’s amazing – even a small amount of milk in mashed potato seems to trigger a reaction… I know, I found it hard to believe until I saw it for myself too!

At a friend’s house a couple of days ago, my boy was offered a smoothie.  Yup they could do dairy free – no problem.  Can I put an avocado in it she asked…. cue horrified look from my son – a green vegetable in his smoothie!!!!   Was she crazy!?  Persuaded to try it as he did actually once enjoy sushi that had a smidge of avocado in it, we discovered delicious, creamy dairy free smoothies.

I’ve not been a fan of juicing for a while… I was always suspicious about how much goodness had to be lost in all the pulp that was discarded by juicers so smoothies somehow seemed better to my mind.

Our smoothies now contain avocado, bananas (always!), frozen or fresh berries, rice or some other dairy free milk (often a nut milk), baby kale leaves (the boy doesn’t know about those), and some fresh orange juice from the wealth of organic oranges from our fruit and veg box – oh my goodness, those smoothies taste so good!!!  If we have any left over then it gets frozen before it goes a funny colour (as these fresh things do), in Kai Carriers – perfect for lunch boxes and picnics.  You can get Kai Carriers here

And while I remember, avocados are really cheap right now, but don’t always last long.  Did you know you can freeze avocado?  Some people brush the flesh with lemon to help prevent browning, but I found when I wrapped mine well in glad wrap before freezing they didn’t brown.  It’s easier if you remove the flesh so you don’t have to completely defrost the avocado to use it.  Defrosted avocado goes a bit soft so not ideal for salads, but perfect for smoothies, dips etc.

So there you have it, creamy dairy free smoothies and frozen avocados 🙂

 

Leave a comment